Source Material vs Literature or Evergreen Notes?

I’ve only found one post dealing with source material in a Zettellkasten methodology using Obsidian. From what I understand, there seems to be two broad ways to deal with source material (web pages, articles, blog post, podcasts, videos, etc.) The first is to store the source material someplace else, like Zotero for pdfs or Notion for other media. The second is to pull the source material into Obsidian.

For pdfs, Zotero works great. However, using Notion as a Zettelkasten or as an adjunct to it is a bit cumbersome. So while I am open to a “store source material elsewhere,” I am a bit more curious about how you would pull the source material into Obsidian.

Since I am new to both Obsidian and Zettelkasten, pulling source material (“other people’s thoughts”) into Obsidian at first seemed like a violation of the Zettelkasten methodology. Then someone mentioned that Obsidian is a PKM platform, not just Zettelkasten, so that removed that barrier. But I am having a hard time wrapping my head around how one imports a 'whole lot of other people’s thoughts into Obsidian, then turning them into literature notes, and then distills that into evergreen or permanent notes.

As a physician, my two use cases would be a) creating a medical treatment notebook (multiple diseases with diagnoses, treatment, etc) and writing a nonfiction book in Obsidian, using information from several sources that are tied together using the Zettelkasten method. Is either of these possible?

Thanks in advance!

2 Likes

EDIT: I hit “post” while I was in the middle of drafting my response. Sorry about that.

For your first question about storing source material, here are some forum posts you may want to look at: