Sometimes plugins don’t fully unload when they are turned off or when Restricted Mode is turned on. This requires the user to restart the app (and to know that they should restart the app), which confuses users who are troubleshooting and don’t know about it. It also requires people providing support to others to complicate their instructions.
Restart the app when Restricted Mode is turned on.
Restarting each time an individual plugin is turned off could be annoying when disabling multiple plugins. If disabling multiple plugins at once is common, it might be better to instead show a notice with a button to restart.