Obsidian Sync: Hot\Live Reload of settings after sync

I would love it if there were a setting or default behavior within the Sync core plugin that would either reload the whole Obsidian app, or, preferably, reload only the plugins for which preferences changed due to the sync.

Use case or problem

I use obsidian on 5 different devices, between personal and work computers/phones and an iPad. This issue occurs when I begin using Obsidian on a different device than I did for my last usage, e.g., when I login to my work computer in the morning, having changed something on my phone or personal computer the previous day.

At some point, I notice that some feature is not working as expected, or a note is not behaving/appearing as expected. This problem was vexing me for a bit before I realized that the cause was related to settings that require a reload after changing to take effect. These settings were updated in the background by Sync, and I had not thought to reload or restart Obsidian to enable/resolve the updated settings.

I have mainly noticed this after changing something related to the Tasks or QuickAdd community plugins, though I do believe there are other examples that aren’t coming to mind.

Proposed solution

It would be great to have an option in the Sync plugin settings (or just the default behavior) that would enable some sort of post-sync reload that would resolve the behavior of plugins with changed settings.

  • Ideally, I would love to see a way that individual plugins could be reloaded after their settings were changed due to a sync. I have no idea if this fix is feasible/possible or whether notes employing these plugins would have to also be reloaded.
  • Second-best would probably be a way to quietly reload Obsidian, avoiding the screen blank and momentary lack of functionality.
  • The most straightforward fix would be to just enable a reload of Obsidian via the built-in Reload app without saving mechanism.

Current workaround (optional)

Since noticing this issue, I have done my best to make sure to keep an eye on the sync progress using the View button associated with the Sync Activity setting. Once I see that the vault is fully synced, I then manually reload the app.


Thank you, and much love for a fantastic app–I use it constantly and couldn’t be happier with its wide-ranging functionality and use cases!

1 Like

My preference would be to get a notification (just like Chrome notifies you if an update has been installed) and then I can click to reload.

2 Likes