One vault vs multiple vaults

What’s the design philosophy behind Obsidian having the option to have vaults? From what I gather, vaults have separate preferences for styling for instance and they allow separate directories to be used for file attachments.

What I am curious about is what is the concept of the vault as envisioned by the developers here and what workflow is it designing with in mind?

One obvious way to use it is to use separate vaults for separate projects but then why not just use folders for that purpose in case there’s linking possibilities between all of them?

Speaking in terms of PKM or more appropriately building a second brain, our brain links every thought with every other things without caring much for categories like, Project A or B, or work or personal, etc. So in that case, an argument can be made using just one vault for everything. The Zettelkasten approach also encourages this and although I am new to the concept, I’ve mostly seen advice to avoid using subfolders even.

So, what’s your workflow with regards to vaults in Obsidian, whether you follow zettelkasten or not? Do you use one vault or many? What are the pros and cons?

33 Likes

One explanation I’ve seen is that some users have a need for rigid demarcation, as between home and work.
In practice, if you only use one vault, you should be unaffected by the possibility of creating others.

Personally, I’d tend to one unless I have projects where I know I will only want links and tags from other notes in that project. It would avoid distraction from notes that aren’t relevant. I’d probably set one up before writing a final version and publishing. I’d just copy relevant notes in. Should help focus.

7 Likes