Import from BEAR App

For the latest instructions see the official Bear import guide

Hi, I’m new to Obsidian but have been using several note taking apps for years.
Before Obsidian, I used BEAR. But I had to migrate to Windows and thus I need some cross platform note taking app now.

My import workflow (From MAC BEAR to WINDOWS Obsidian):

1. Export from BEAR as Markdown+Attachments to a Dropbox Folder “notes”
  2. Create an “attachment” folder under “notes” folder (“notes/attachments”)
  3. Move all folders beneath “notes” folder, to this new “attachments” folder.
  4. Fix all inline image links, running the code below on a shell opened on the “notes” folder:

find . -type f -name "*.md" -exec bash -c "sed -E 's/\!\[\]\(/\!\[\]\(attachments\//' '{}' > tempfile; touch -r '{}' tempfile; mv tempfile '{}'" \;

This way, all inline images get properly linked to the new attachments folder, and the creation/modified timestamps are preserved. I’m no shell ninja so please PLEASE if you do use this, make some backups !

So far, I’m loving Obsidian. Good job guys and gals! Other than a more polished UI, the one thing that is nagging me is that BEAR allowed attachments of any type. Still thinking what to do with those in Obsidian.

12 Likes

Hey! Thanks for this. Do you know how to fix the linking with tags? At the moment, all the tags work, but they open the Bear app when I would want it to open in Obsidian. :slight_smile:

Hi, can you provide some examples?

If you linked a Bear note to another Bear note, it looks something like this:
[1 September](bear://x-callback-url/open-note?id=DBDBB013-E5DA-4204-9F67-C7357F814134-1065-00007739A86EBF2F)

I’m sorry, didn’t see this reply… did you manage to fix this?

This worked flawlessly for me, thanks! Should it be added to Obsidian’s Help vault? It describes how to import from other systems, but not from Bear.

1 Like

This has worked great for me!

3 Likes