Funnel all headings blocks with specific tags into a new note

Things I have tried

I’ve tried researching this issue with Google and on the forum, but I haven’t been able to find any solutions. It’s possible that I’m using the wrong terminology, as I’m new to Obsidian.

What I’m trying to do

Basically, what I want to do is when I add a specific tag to a heading in my daily note (or any note in my vault), that same heading and its contents are placed in another note that aggregates all of the headings with that same tag.

I’ve been using Dataview to try to do this, but it’s showing the name of the full note, not just the heading with the tag as a single line with a link, instead of displaying the full block.

An example would be:

In my DAILY NOTE 01-05-23 I would write something like

Remeber This

#Tag

Remember this one piece of information from today.

Then I would have another note labeled Check this out where I would also have

Remeber This

#Tag

Remember this one piece of information from today.

This is the Dataview script I tried:

table
where tags= BHZ106
sort file.day

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance!

1 Like

Try this, and you don’t even need a tag. Where I’ve used “Health” or “Mood”, you can use “Remember This”:

In your daily notes, you might have a “Health” heading where you log your daily health information. If you want to collect the text under these headings from all of your notes, you can do this with Dataview.

Here is a working demo vault which you can download to test with:

:floppy_disk: Download demo vault

It will collect the sections under each of your requested daily note headings, and summarise them by day inside a single note:

How to set up

The latest version of this guide can always be found here.

Step 1:

Install Dataview, and turn on Javascript queries:

Step 2:

Create a new note and paste this code:

```dataviewjs
// Headings you would like to summarise the text for
const headings = ['Health', 'Mood']