Any way to integrate Grammarly as plugin?

I’m a law student. I need Grammarly/Turnitin so when I write research notes I can let these app do some editing/changing/spell check, etc. Can it integrate into a plugin? Thanks for any ideas.

33 Likes

Of those two, only ‘Turnitin’ offers an API. So that one should be possible at least.

2 Likes

From what I can tell, this isn’t possible. The obsidian languagetool plugin isn’t quite as powerful as grammarly, but is close.

8 Likes

Some folks have tried to reverse engineer the grammarly api, but it’s hard to know how stable that would be: GitHub - stewartmcgown/grammarly-api: Unofficial TypeScript client for the Grammarly API

Unfortunately, a proper api doesn’t really seem to fit with grammarly’s business model, so it doesn’t seem likely we’ll see one anytime soon. LanguageTool is a decent replacement. I don’t find it nearly as accurate, but it will pick up basic things.

6 Likes

In the latest roundup mail by @EleanorKonik there was a link to @pseudometa post on discord about plugins for longform.
(here it is: Discord )

He mentioned languagetool: GitHub - Clemens-E/obsidian-languagetool-plugin: languagetool plugin for obsidian

Which is fine, but I’m a premium Grammarly user and their checks go further.

So I got into a rabbit hole on the subject, I knew there was a plugin for VSCODE with grammarly:

And the unofficial API: GitHub - stewartmcgown/grammarly-api: Unofficial TypeScript client for the Grammarly API

But apparently, Grammarly just started offering a preview to an API: https://developer.grammarly.com/

So either way, official or unofficial, it seems there is finally an opening to a Grammarly plugin.

22 Likes

This would be very useful for my workflow. + onsies in hopes someone develops a Grammarly plugin.

8 Likes

I notice there is also an API for ProWritingAid which happens to be the service I normally use in other software. https://prowritingaid.com/en/API/Documentation