Using Obsidian to capture memories

Hi all, I’ve been using Obsidian for a couple of months now. I have been watching a lot of videos and occasionally browsing the forums, etc. The community is fantastic, and it’s been so helpful with getting started.

My question is that I wonder if anyone has a good system for just capturing random memories in Obsidian. If I think about something random from my childhood, and I want to capture it, I’m not sure of a good way to put it into my “system”. If it’s something short, sometimes I will just capture it in a daily note, but then, I can lose the context of it if it’s just in a random day’s note.

I could make an MOC for Memories, I guess, but I’m not sure how I’d create categories and such.

Has anyone done anything like this, or do you have any suggestions?

Thanks in advance!

2 Likes

I don’t have any advice, but this thread might be relevant because of the focus on memory capture:
Obsidian, Stroke, and Dementia

A while back I read a post regarding someone using OneNote and having a page for each calendar day (Format: Jan. 25 for example) and then posting on the page for the current day noting its year and weekday (and then when you come back around to that day in a year inserting the current year’s post at the top) to be able to come back and see what day things happened and when.

Title: Jan. 25

Jan. 25th (day of week) 2020
- Went to play basketball with Friend
- Played hopscotch like a boss

Jan. 25th ... 2019
- Twidled my thumbs
- Went out to A Bar with the crew

Jan. 25th ... 2018
- Other cool things I did on this day