Social Network Mapping

Hi complete noob here that stumbled on to Obsidian by chance. This is a bit out of left field but here goes:

I’ve been trying to solve a bit of a unique workflow problem for years now. I work in a highly relationship-driven field. For quite a while now I’ve wanted to create exactly the type of visual mapping of interrelated connections between companies and individuals that is displayed by Obsidian’s graph view.

There are highly complex programs out there that do this but they are intended for much more analytical results and are overkill for my goals. Obsidian seems to provide the connectivity visualization I’m looking for at a far less complex level. My question to users with experience here is if you think that it can achieve that goal and if so what the basic structure needs to look like.

Basically, I would like to be able to select a node (person or company) and see all of the known interconnections and relationships I know that person to hold. Has anyone smarter than me done this already?

• Would I need to create a single note for every company and/or individual?
  • Is there a “address book” style template that could consolidate all of the names in a single location instead of countless individual notes - potentially with no more details than one name on them?
  • If I start building it that way, would I need to backlink every single note then to add new people and new known relationships in both directions?

Maybe Im trying to make Obsidian fit something its really not designed to do and if so, Im ok with accepting that. The graph view is just so close to what im looking for, that Im hopeful there’s an effective and easily scalable answer to the layout & format underneath that would work.

Any thoughts or help appreciated.
Thanks in advance.

2 Likes

I have read posts of other people request something similar and I don’t believe that a perfect solution exists.