Side-by-side Live Preview

Obsidian should have a way to show a “live preview” as a separate pane, rather than trying to make the editor itself act as the live preview.

Use case or problem

I’m evaluating Obsidian as a possible replacement for Quiver, which doesn’t seem to be maintained anymore. I am a computer programmer and a system/network administrator, I’ve been using Markdown almost exclusively for ten-plus years now.

I’m used to Markdown editors with an editor and a live preview, side by side. The way Obsidian currently implements “live preview”, by dynamically changing the sizes and text attributes within the editor to make it act like a preview, is distracting to me. An editor shouldn’t change the text attributes unless the user tells it do so.

I’ve seen where you can make Obsidian simulate this behaviour by opening the same file twice in different tabs, however …

• When I do this, I also have to manually change the tab on the right every time I change which file I’m editing on the left. The preview should automatically track whatever file I’m editing.
  • When I do this, the two views don’t “sync” their scrolling positions. Changes in the source do show up immediately in the preview, but if I scroll down two pages in the editor, the preview should automatically scroll up/down to match the location I’m viewing in the editor pane.
  • There’s no way to configure separate fonts for the editor and the preview. If I want to use a mono-spaced font in the editor, I also get the mono-spaced font in the preview. They need to be configurable separately.

I understand that part of this is because I have ten years’ worth of pre-conceived notions about how a markdown editor should work, or maybe it’s because I’m expecting Obsidian to be something it isn’t intended to be (i.e. a note-taking program which happens to use Markdown, as opposed to a “Markdown editor”).