Replace all asterisks in a given file

Things I have tried

I am trying to replace asterisks (Some of the stuff I copy from web/pdf is in italics/bold - Which is not needed, I just need plain text files with no formatting - be it bold,italics etc)
Example Text :

The quic*k brown fox*jumps right~ over lazy dog^

Needed Text:

The quick brown fox jumps right over lazy dog.

I tried playing around with javascript/css but failed

var str = “Hello^# World/”;
str.replace(/[^a-zA-Z ]/g, “”); // “Hello World”

I am complete noob with CSS - But this is taking forever - I have been stumbling. Obsidian fails to load file - Not sure where could I look for errors or how to fix it.

I need to assign a hotkey and replace all asterisks with “” . Please help

Thank you!

What I’m trying to do

Search for asterisk, replace with nothing.

Or use paste and match style, which will strip out the source formatting.

Angel

I have over 5000 definitions , which I am researching on - and doing (Search/replace) that over and again is way time consuming then we may imagine.
I tried Macro plug-in - that I am not sure how to pass parameters and get results.

Given a choice I might want to automate it via a hot key.
Then there may be a 100 some files which I am formatting (Bold/Italic) and creating Table of Content(s)

That necessitates automation (or some help :slight_smile: )

Multiple files make a real difference. I’d open the vault with VSC or Atom and run a search and replace there.

Angel

That may make sense when I am already done researching on my notes and all my notes are ready to be searched and replaced.

But I have dictionary of terms that I am still researching - this requires lots of searching for financial terms/stock market analysis(Past/Current/different economies) - I don’t have it handy - I keep compiling information everyday - and often at times these notes are atomic (in case further research/re linking is needed) .