Paragraph formatting in editor?

I am using Obsidian with Zotero as a Zettelkasten. I am a fiction writer and my notes cover a number of things: research, readings in literature, etc.

…actually I just realized that none of this is particular to what I do. It’s just a Zettelkasten, the way anyone without much imagination would use it LOL. I connect ideas and build up chains of ideas into nearly-draft-quality writing.

That’s the part I’m stuck on - writing. When I have two paragraphs in a row the formatting in the editor is so bad it’s distracting. The main part I can’t live without is a visual cue to separate paragraphs.

Once I have a critical mass of notes - enough to move over to Scrivener and start working on a draft - I’m home free. I’m not trying to write for 3 hours at a time on a long MS in Obsidian. It’s just notes where I’m fleshing out a single idea in a few paragraphs, if I try to read back through it often seems like I’m missing a paragraph. I try to add it and get an extra break.

FWIW Typora is my favorite MD editor. I would love to have its editor native in Obsidian, or at least a theme with usable, transparent type (doesn’t get in the way of working).

Long story short (too late), can someone help me get any kind of visible paragraph break? Indent, line spacing, whatever - I just need to see paragraphs.

I’m thinking I must be missing something obvious. It seems beyond imagination that I’m the first to suffer under the weight of this formatting.

BTW I’m using the plugin Sliding Panes (Andy’s Mode)

Things I have tried

I looked through the help and found Add custom styles

Realistically I’m probably not going to do much tinkering with anything remotely resembling code. I know this is open source software, and tinkering is the point for some people, but I’m just a user. In younger years I did lots of hobby tinkering - scripting, woodworking, electronics. I wish I could have all that time back.