PARA system - an Obsidian system and a hard drive system or all one?

I’m fairly new to both PARA and Obsidian, but have currently organised my hard drive and my Obsidian vault using a consistent mixture of PARA and a decimal system borrowed from Johnny Decimal. This was the original suggestion in the Building a Second Brain program - use a consistent system across storage (hard drive), notes (he used Evernote), email, task manager etc.

Now that I’ve got here, I have a rough division of ‘notes and some PDFs and images in Obsidian’ and 'documents, media files, software-specific files like spreadsheets outside Obsidian in my hard drive filing system. But occasionally I wonder if anyone brings the two together so their vault is essentially their whole hard drive. It seems risky to me in that some files might not show in Obsidian, and I’d have to be careful to stop some folders syncing to my mobile devices. But I just wondered if any of you use it that way?

making my whole hard drive my vault seems like a fairly dubious prospect. i don’t need 2TB of storage space for an obsidian vault. at least not in this decade.

i use obsidian for studying the Bible and regenerative agriculture; task management and calendars; jotting down random thoughts, journaling, etc. everything related to those three general uses is already in my vault and its only 62MB. theres nothing else on my drive that i’d feel comfortable having stored on a server somewhere or carrying around on a thumb drive.

it makes no sense to me as a use case for obsidian.

I’d love to put everything in my vault and use it as a general interface/index, but Obsidian Sync storage limits prevent it, and it might hurt the app’s performance.