In response to:
If I rename a file, the sync history (previous versions) is erased!
This caused me to lose the version history of a file I’ve been working on for months and I routinely have to check previous versions to see what was written before.
This should not be happening, renaming the file should be reflected in its sync history as yet another change, not erase it completely!
Currently, when you rename a file, all of its past versions in Sync get permanently deleted. This should not be happening, version history should be maintained.
A nice addition would be tracking the rename in the version history, but as a priority, please prevent the deletion of version history.
I am gonna repeat here that the sync history is NOT erased when a file is renamed.
We just do not track renames and this FR would be better named: Track file rename in obsidian sync history.
Is there an intention to implement this file name tracking? It is mildly annoying to have to revert a filename to track the sync history. Thankfully it’s not too frequent an occurrence and I can usually remember the original filename!