Obsidian and emoji

I found a very funny thing. Obsidian perfectly perceives emojis in notes. You can also use emojis to search for notes.
So you can add to the text, for example :bulb:, to mark ideas. And then just search :bulb: to find all the notes with ideas.
Exactly works in Windows 10. To insert an Emoji, click win+"."

19 Likes

Neat trick! You can also make emojis a tag.

1 Like

Iā€™ve been doing this for my tags for a while :sweat_smile:

9 Likes

And Control + Command + SPACE for Mac :smiley:

4 Likes

In effect this is a copy/paste operation.
A syntactic way would be to be able to type e.g. :smile: to get :grinning:

4 Likes

Hi Bryan,
I am new to Obsidian and I watched your video Here Is How I Use Tags šŸ·ļø And Links šŸ”—ļø In Obsidian To Manage My Zettelkasten šŸ“ļø - YouTube

Really not so easy to not get confused since English is not my mother tongue.

I have found your definitions of each status tag as described below on the screenshot. But I have to say Iā€™m still not sure how to use them.

Even with the descriptions above, Iā€™m confused about when / what for use each tags.
For example:

1 - What is the difference between a seed box and a seedling? I donā€™t understand ā€œdistilled from literature noteā€. Letā€™s say I have capture a long literature note manually: What status tag should I put on it?
Now letā€™s say that Iā€™m using the Note Extractor plugin to automatically create a new note of each of the headings of my literature note: What status tag should I then use for each of the newly created notes?

2 - I could go on asking you how I should ask each of the stauts tag: When, what for, etc.?

I do not want to create a mess from the start in my vault andd dwould need anybodyā€™s help here about:

• How many status tags should I create?
  • how should i use them? I mean what workflows should I use with them?

Also:
3 - What is the advantage of using #:evergreen_tree: rather than #evergreen?