Right now, the Version History is only one year long. While this is likely enough for most people, it would be nice to have an option similar to:
- Delete Sync Version History older than: 1 month/ 1 year/ Never
Since Obsidian already sets a limit on total vault size with Sync Version History included, there should be no reason why this wouldn’t work from a business perspective.
I write longform content in Obsidian. Many times, I write a new “draft” over the previous one, knowing that if for any reason I want to see what I wrote, I can see that in the Sync Version History.
Maybe 2 years down the road I will need/want to see one of the first drafts of the first chapters, but that will already be deleted.
- One could just save a copy of each draft, but that is unnecesarily complicated.
- Git plugin or other sync alternatives offer the like, but a native implementation would be best.