When I use obsidian with a bitlocker vault on USB, the vault gets removed from the selection screen when (temporary) not available. This results in the vault configuration to be removed, like the sync information, etc.
Use case: I sync my work notes but want them secure. So I put an obsidian vault on a USB stick with bitlocker.
- I mount the USB stick by unlocking the bitlocked vault
- I select my vault in Obsidian (in this case D:\Work)
- I have to setup sync, disable safe mode, etc.
- It sync perfectly once mounted
- I restart my PC (or boot up the next day)
- Obsidian starts up
- The vault D:\Work is gone
And I have to start from step 2) again.
Desired outcome, leave unavailable vaults in vault selection screen (it might have a cross or if not available, can’t be selected), but deleting all config and cache once it’s temporarily not found, is a bit destructive.
Same goes for a vault on a network share. If the share is unavailable (due to a network hickup), the vault info should also not be deleted.