Is there any way to select a sentence in Obsidian?

Things I have tried

I have searched the help docs, and this doesn’t seem to be possible, yet it is important for prose writers [I know that you can select sentences with the mouse. I need a keyboard shortcut or a potential keyboard shortcut]

What I’m trying to do

I am a prose writer, not a coder, which means that my unit of meaning is the sentence, not the line. Almost every editor I know of recognises the line as a semantic unit, and so has commands to select a line, move to each end, delete it, copy it, and so on. Very few indeed have the corresponding commands for sentences.

Vim does, I think; and of course full-blown word processors like Word and LibreOffice do. The concept certainly exists in Java, because I once had to hack together a couple of macros to do this in a mind mapper written in Java. Scrivener can be taught to do this with Keyboard Maestro or AutoHotKey. Is there a chance that Obsidian could be taught to do this, too?

The lack is one thing holding me back from a full scale commitment to the program. The other is the lack of a proper web clipper, but I’m sure that will be remedied in time.

3 Likes

Agreed that this would be useful.

You mention vim – as a workaround you might see if vim mode has shortcuts for what you want. Of course that means writing in vim mode so maybe that’s not what you want to do.

Hey good question,

If you are willing to learn vim, this is the absolute best way to do it. I’m a writer as well and vim makes my writing experience so much better.

Obsidian has vim keybindings built in, so if you are willing to learn you can just use vim for this kind of stuff.

However I recommend learning how vim works before you activate it, since otherwise you’ll just get frustrated.

I have a quick overview video about vim in Obsidian and I plan to make learning resources soon