Is there any conversion tool for a large WikidPad? Is it worth it?

Things I have tried

I only found three mentions of WikidPad and they did not answer my questions.

What I’m trying to do

Hi there.

I have a WikidPad with over 330,000 pages, that I have been working on for many years. However, I now need something considerably faster, and Obsidian seems to come highly recommended.

So I have a number of questions, if you would be so kind.

Is there a converter for WikidPad into Obsdian? Would it cope with such a huge amount of pages?

Would the WikidWord links be recognised by Obsidian? Can it be set to continue to use WikidWords (camel case) as links/potential links? Would the current inter-relationships be preserved?

Is there an equivalent to the referrers button? This has been essential to my work, and will continue to be so.

I use the WikidPad for the text side of studying astrology AND astronomy, are there any plug-ins that would be appropriate for this?

If Obsidian cannot do all of these things, can you recommend any software that would? I am reasonably technologically aware, but I don’t know what I don’t know, and any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

Very much looking forward to your replies, as being able to speed up my work would be an absolute Godsend!

Thanks folks! I hope someone can assist me here!

I don’t know much about wikipad, but it sounds like plugin/script territory to me. How much effort is required depends on the amount of custom syntax.

1 Like

I assume your pages are text files rather than in a database. If so, you can test for yourself by copying say ten pages into a folder which you can then load as an Obsidian vault.
If it is only converting WikidWords, you could try using a text editor to bulk transform into Obsidian’s wikilinks.