How to Repair Hundreds of Mangled Links Thanks to the Alias Bug?

What I’m trying to do

I did not discover this bug before it was too late:

This evening was my “note-tending” session. I spent the last couple of hours renaming files and moving them around, happily relying on Obisidian’s magic refactoring to sort everything out. Hundreds of interlinked notes, with very carefully curated aliases for each link (e.g., “Please see [[path/to/note|this really cool study]] for more information”) are now completely exploded with all the links meaningless (“[[path/to/renamed-notethis really cool study]]”).

The vault is under git VCS, so I can roll back everything, but that would lose the dozens and dozens of microedits/tweaks/prunes/grafts etc. I did while tending the garden.

Does anyone have any suggestions on how I can repair my links short of a full revert?

As you use git, I think that’s the best option here. That’s what it’s for! :laughing:

I’m not a regex expert, but sorting out where to insert the | into the links seems daunting.

1 Like

I think one way to do this would be to make a copy of the vault as it is now, i.e. “current-vault”, and then use git to revert everything to where the links are good again. Then you can use some tool to compare “current-vault” to the reverted vault and redo the changes with our without the missing pipe character.

Such diff tools is available for most platforms, and they can be pretty good even when they’re free of cost.

3 Likes

Thanks! That 's a great idea. The problem is that the files and directories have all changed and moved around, so there is a LOT of noise. Made worse by Git sometimes seeing renamed files as new ones instead of rename ones etc.