How to implement zettelkasten's sequence of notes?

I am new to Obsidian and new to zettelkasten. I noticed that zettelkasten notes are connected both by “free-style” connections and by sequences. It was said that a new related note can be created and added at the back of the original note… I am wondering how people simulate this in Obsidian.

I am thinking to create a linked list. In other words, each note will have a standard header, which contains a Prev field and a Next field, connecting to the previous and next note in the sequence respectively.

Is there any better idea?

1 Like

I think this will be a lot of work to maintain.

Let’s say you have a sequence of 20 notes. Now you want to add a new note after #2. That also means you’d need to update notes 3 through 20.

I fear that that approach kind of defeats the one of the purposes of the Zettelkasten, which is to freely collect notes and combine them (later) in new ways.

If you’d know that making a single note means you’d also have to edit 20 or 40 other notes, there’s probably not much motivation to make a note in the first place.

I work with index files where I place the links to the notes in a logical order. If I want to add a new note in between existing lines, I’ll add it to a new line.

For instance:

- [[A]]
- [[B]]
- [[C]]

After making a new note:

- [[A]]
- [[D]]
- [[B]]
- [[C]]

Each note that I include in such a list also links back to the index file, which makes it possible to freely navigate from the higher level picture (the index) to the details (the individual notes).

(This is not a special way of working I myself designed. :slight_smile: As far as I know it’s quite a common way to create a digital Zettelkasten.)

1 Like