Help with group and sort with dataview plugin

Things I have tried

What I’m trying to do

Hey, loving Obsidian so far but I’m not a coder and I’m having trouble understanding how to use the Dataview plugin.

I have a folder named 6.Projects which contains a bunch of folders for each project I’m working on, plus an _Archive folder. Each of the project folders also contains an _Archive folder where I store single, completed notes re: a specific project once I’m done with them.

6.Projects
    _Archive
        Project_4
            _Archive
    Project_1
        _Archive
    Project_2
        _Archive
    Project_3
        _Archive

I’d like to use Dataview to grab a list of files, grouped by folders, excluding anything that’s into an _Archive folder. Is that even possible?

I’m trying to keep track of my ‘active’ projects and notes this way, without manually tagging files.

Edit: I got it kinda working with

```dataview
LIST rows.file.link FROM "6.Projects" WHERE !contains(file.folder, "_Archive") AND !contains(file.name, "_Working on")
GROUP BY file.folder
```

Now… how do I sort the results below each grouping? Right now they appear to be sorted randomly, while I’d like to sort them by filename. Adding SORT rows.file.name ASC didn’t do it.

1 Like

Hi.

Your query:

```dataview
LIST rows.file.link
FROM "6.Projects"
WHERE !contains(file.folder, "_Archive") AND !contains(file.name, "_Working on")
GROUP BY file.folder
```

About sorting, some tips (with a “practical” language - I’m not coder too, just more one newbie…):