Formatting in tags

I’m new to Obsidian and recently ported the markdown files from my Quatro blog into my Vault. I figured that Obsidian would be a good place to edit blog drafts in markdown.

The files use YAML headers, including the key tags. However, I noticed that certain existing tags were picked up incorrectly (e.g., “philosophy of science” is given as three separate tags, “philosophy,” “of,” and “science”). This doesn’t occur in Quatro (although, in that environment, the key categories takes the place of tags). And I don’t recall it occurring for multi-word tags in my previous Hugo blog either.

Looking through the docs, I found that apparently Obsidian doesn’t allow for individual tags to contain spaces. My question is basically the same as this user: Why is this the case? It seems that it’d be useful for tags to allow spaces. I plan on using Obsidian with Zotero down the track. Haven’t used Zotero for a while, but from memory it allows spaces in individual keywords (the equivalent of tags).

Is there a chance of a future update allowing for spaces within individual tags? Or, if not that, creating a separate set (categories or keywords) that does allow for this, while retaining similar functionality to tags in Obsidian?

You can’t use spaces because Obsidian’s tags can also be written in the note body as hashtags.