Doubts regarding linking (granularity and density) and atomic notes: "How linked is too linked?"

I’m currently learning to build a PKM for notes and knowledge related to my studies (STEM) with the following objectives

• It should be an evergreen library that I can easily access whenever I’m studying something new that depends on things I’ve already studied
  • It should allow me to explore my knowledge and gain new insight as I’m researching or working on tasks
  • It has a well-defined set of objective rules and structure (that I actually keep written as a note)

To achieve this, I’ve looked at the Zettelkasten method and the Evergreen Notes method, and I really ended up liking the idea of interconnected notes.
As I am writing notes and actively applying the core principles, I’m left with a couple of doubts about atomic notes and linking best practices.

Core questions I’ve been trying to answer myself before linking:

• “Am I linking this note just because I’m saying its name, or does this link actually add a good amount of meaning?”
  • “Will this be useful to my future self?”/“Will my future self need this link to expand or understand better?”
    After writing this, I’m also starting to feel afraid of “thinking too much about graph view/backlinks rather than knowledge itself”, so please point me out of this is the case.

Problem 1: How atomic is too atomic

As an example, consider the notes “Matrices” and “Addition operator for matrices”.
If “Addition operator for matrices” appears only in the “Matrices” note (see “Implied links” problem), wouldn’t it be right to merge those two notes as one note even if they express two different ideas and concepts?

Discussion on problem 1 (How atomic is too atomic)

• Creating only one note would make reading easier and would keep my vault less cluttered
  • Avoids, for some part, the “Implied links” problem
  • The notes can be split when I talk about something very specific about addition