Dataview table by file type

In dataview want to query for all files with the *.png extension, but am either not finding the correct query field or not understanding how I have the query grab *.png files. file.name

I’m just trying to pull a list of images in my Obsidian notes into a standalone reference table.

I’m not a coder, so please have a little pitty and patience with me trying to figure this out :slight_smile:

Dataview only works with markdown files.

But you can get a list with a code block query:

```query
path:.png
```
2 Likes

Thanks for the response, I did get that figured out, it took embarrassingly long.

The problem that I have with the query is the unorganized response.

With the query is there a way to separate the path from the file name, and format that into a table; where filename is listed separately to the path so I can have it sort in alphabetical order, but still see when the file is stored?

With dataview and oql, I’ve tried to grab the linknames that had png in them, hoping that I could use that to sort alphabetically and then display the corresponding path of the link, but I can’t figure that out.

So I think I’m just not understanding the “filter” syntax. Using Dataview the simple

```dataview
TABLE file.name, file.outlinks

SORT file.outlink DESC
```

returns a nice table of of all my notes and the outgoing links. In the outgoing links I see the .png files listed as the link names (I change all my pasted image names to describe the image). However, if (as is my poor understanding) I add a filter:

```dataview
TABLE file.name, file.outlinks

WHERE contains(file.outlinks, ".png") = true

SORT file.outlink DESC
```

I get “Dataview: Query returned 0 results.”

Any pointers?

1 Like

Well, I don’t have all the answers for you. But I can try clarify some.
About the way to organize the results of a query, I think that’s impossible.