Workflow/system for creative workers

Hi good people!

I’m a service/ systems designer (design thinking, UX blabla) and are currently working on how creatives can use PKM and “new” applications (not word, physical notebooks etc, but Notion, Obsidian, Roam etc) to boost their creative working.

As a service designer I need both to have logical and quantitative data and to understand a problem, as well as qualitative data from interviews etc. My hypothesis is that creative workers can benefit in their work if they can store knowledge both from academia and previous projects in a way they can link ideas together and easiest find and use the knowledge in current projects.

I therefore was wondering if anyone here in the forum have any suggestions, workflows, wishes, needs etc for a system like this? I would really appreciate the help and will of course share my findings here when the project is done☺️

1 Like

I don’t know if my situation will help you but let me talk about it anyway.

I worked for years as a tech journalist. During that time, I’d be working on two or three articles at a time, and nearly all of those articles would be done within 24 hours. In addition to that, I’d have one or two longer-term projects going along, with completion times in days, weeks, or months.

It was easy for me to hold the status of all that in my head.

Almost two years ago, I transitioned to a job doing content marketing. Now, I write articles for a corporate website. These articles can take weeks or months to complete, and I’ll generally have a half-dozen going at once. Too much for me to simply hold the status and context for all of them in my head! I have had to evolve new ways of working, and use new tools.

I have tried simple documents in the Mac Finder, DevonThink, and Obsidian. I used Obsidian for most of 2021, went to DevonThink for a couple of months, and now I’m back to Obsidian again.