Workflow for learning how to Program

Workflow for Studying Code and storing snippets.

I have watched numerous YouTube videos on different workflows, tried different note taking applications LogSeq, Notion, RemNote, OneNote, etc…

My problem is, I want to use a note taking app to organize my code and study notes. I know Obsidian frowns upon top down structure, but when I read a book on a programming language, it starts at the beginning. I can’t just jump around or I will not learn it properly.

Are there any coders out there that use Obsidian for studying programming languages? If so, what type of workflow do you use? For instance, I am studying JavaScript:

I need some sort of hierarchy with some nested topics. I downloaded the sample workflow fault and thought maybe I could start with a TOC? What about sections like “Objects” that contain things like, “Object Literals”, “Classes” and examples of these.

I have spent two weeks trying to find a structure while searching for a solid note taking app. The funny thing is, I haven’t written one note yet.

Is Obsidian made for this or is it just for researching? If someone can give me a sample workflow or direct me to a note taking app that might suit me better, I would really appreciate it.

Regards,
Matt

Hi @Muzikman777 , fellow user here.

I know what you mean – it’s hard to get started on building your notes, especially when you’re trying out new tools and trying to figure out what will work best for you.

I would disagree with you that Obsidian frowns on top-down structure. One of the things I like about Obsidian is that it is primarily a Markdown text editor that provides a lot of tools for linking and organizing your notes. It doesn’t have an opinion about whether your notes are top-down, bottom-up, tagged, linked, in folders, or not. It’s happy to support whatever structure you want to impose on your notes.