Wish list for Zettelkasten for a working writer

So I’m fairly new to Obsidian, been a Ulysses user for over a million words, and like the idea of moving my zillions of words out of the U3 proprietary format. I also see the power of the Luhman method but don’t know of a tool that really fits the usage scenario I need to replace my usual chaotic ADHD thinking.

So these are scranarios. I think a lot of the function here is very similar to existing features/feature requests, but hard to put them together into a fluent workflow.

I’ve actually written this with a first and probably primitive notion of the “split lines” that are part of the request.

|- 202104131341 Wish list for ZK|1

I’m on a roll capturing a chain of ideas. I want to

• start a new zettel with a hotkey
  • enter a heading and tags (maybe a template)
  • have a key combination that creates a new zettel with
    • the same tags as this
    • “title|n” 1-up, other separator characters find
    • an automatic link to the previous card.

|- 202104131341 Wish list for ZK|2

I’m writing a longer piece. I want to:

• highlight part of the text
  • create a new zettel with the highlighted text as the body
  • return to my original note at point
  • have the zettel link in the clipboard so I can optionally insert a link into my document
    (similar to https://forum.obsidian.md/t/extract-note-refactor/733)

|- 202104131341 Wish list for ZK|3

I’m writing a longer piece. I want to:

• Insert a “split line” with a zettelkasten ID but not split the file yet.
  • post-process the file creating new zettel notes by breaking the line into zettel on the split lines and moving the zettles to the zettelkasten folder

(See [Document Spanning] as well.)

1 Like

+1 for FR no. 3

For no. 2 it reminds me of the Extract Highlights Plugin though I’m not sure if it’s what your looking for.

The one I linked in the note?