Will Obsidian be significantly better than my current method of pkm?

Dear obisian-community,

I’m totally new to the concept of pkm in general and have not yet used obsidian.

I am wondering if changing my current (rather rudimentary but well working) approach towards taking and storing notes/knowledge on my computer could be improved by using obsidian.

What I have done so far is just collect my knowledge in (countless) individual word documents . Each word document represents one small topic (maybe 1 page long) and is well structured by bullet points. And all the documents are stored in folders/subfolders in a logical structure.

My field of knowlege only involves text (no fotos, diagrams, etc.), so Microsoft Word has been working well for that. I have never tried anything else, so I don’t know what I might be missing out on.

It seems that a lot of people get obsessed with pkm and certain software and play around with it endlessly, even changing software multiple times. Thats’ not what I’m willing to do, I want to get started quickly and stick to it long-term.
I’ve been using word-documents for decades and never changed this method. I’m not someone who changes a lot, so if I make the decision for Obsidian I want to be sure it’s an “upgrade” and at the same time “future proof” in many ways.

My focus is not on output (not writing any books, not creating videos, etc.), but on gaining and structuring text based knowledge that comes from (physical) books, websites, videos.

So my questions are:

• Do you think my current, rather simple (but working) system of Microsoft Word documents in folders can be (significantly) improved upon by changing to Obsidian?
  • Is there any way, my existing word documents can be easily transformed into the Obsisian system? Maybe even without losing the formatting (bullet points)