Will links created inside Obsidian be usable in another markdown software?

Hi,
I am new to markdown and to Obsidian, but so far, I am loving it. My goal is to link all my notes. I understand that I can create links between two .md notes by typing [[ ]].
My main concern is the following: If I try to open the vault in another software (Typora, for example), I see the [[ ]], but the files no longer seem to be linked to each other. I don’t know markdown language yet.
My concern is the following: I want to start linking my thoughts in Obsidian, but I need to know that my work will still be usable if I use the vault folder with another software in a couple of years.
I apologize if the question has been raised before.
Any help on that would be greatly appreciated!

You can deactivate Obsidian’s [[Wikilinks]] function in Settings->Files & Links->Use [[Wikilinks]]. It will then generate Markdown links instead. Those should work in other Markdown applications.

2 Likes

I’ve used a variety of different software on Mac and Android, and not all support the double brackets for links. It’s however a rather common standard within Markdown editors, so it’s possible to find alternatives which do support them.

Furhermore, if you should choose to go another editor/viewer which doesn’t support this style of linking, it’s usually easy to do a search and replace on them to accommodate the alternative syntaxes. I’ve done that a few times, when I’ve switched software during the last decades.

1 Like

Thank you, @holroy! Could you give me a quick example of a search and replace syntax process? I don’t understand how to automatically change [[ to a more complex syntax on hundreds of entries.

Thank you, @Olondre !
If I deactivate/reactivate the Wikilinks, do you know if Obsidian will automatically convert the syntax to all existing notes?

It’s hard to give a generic example, but something like the following could work in some cases, deliberately leaving out the aliased versions: