Will I lose everything if I do a manual update to v0.13.33 from v0.9.3?

Hello! Obsidian is asking me to manually update to v0.13.33 - it’s not automatic. I have an old Macbook Pro - the installation requires me to either replace the existing version or keep both. I’m not sure what option to choose. How do I ensure I don’t lose my existing content when I update?

Thanks in advance!

Afaik it should be fine, I sometimes just install a new version over the old one when an installer update is necessary.
But as always, you should do a backup of your vault before making any big changes.

1 Like
  1. I would make sure the app is closed (not running) and choose replace

  2. Your data is stored separately to the app so it will be fine

  3. You could update to version 0.14.2

Angel

1 Like

Thank you… @Angel & @chrsle. I just replaced the older version with 0.14.2. It has worked - I still have all my data (phew)!

1 Like

Welcome. Good to hear all is okay.

Angel

This topic was automatically closed 7 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.