Why use links over hashtags? Discuss!

I’ve been using obsidian for about 2 months and while I initially was using links, I found it cumbersome to remember whether I needed to link to a page or a page subsection or whatever. It really wasn’t working.

Enter hashtags/tags. I didn’t get the point of these initially but they’re simply the best and do everything I need. I wonder, in what cases would anyone use backlinks/links/etc instead of tags? Is is simply a style choice?

I for one prefer the networked, un-hierarchical structure created by tags…

Have you read the existing discussions about it?

The ones I’ve seen don’t answer the Q. Do you have a specific one in mind to share?

No, but the topic of links vs. tags has come up multiple times and people have answered all along the spectrum. What discussions did you read and how did they fail to answer the question?

3 Likes

I use both. Tags are useful for categorizing notes. Links are useful for connecting notes together. They have different purposes.

2 Likes

I agree with your accessement. Tags are more functional than links.

Links are useful for outlining (table of contents, in the traditional book), indexes, and referencing. It is better to restrict the use of links because, given their property, they are terrible destractors of reading. A note overflowed with links is very hard to read from beginning to end because these links attract and distract the attention of the reader. Jumping from one note to another note is not deep understanding. It is a shallow way of linking. A deep understanding is delivered by a flow of text/idea with little or sparse destractors.

For that, this whole hype about zettel, Evergreen blah, blah is just misguided.

Tags are very useful for for oganizing notes/ideas and connect ideas across mulitple notes. They are the prime engines of idea connection.

My process goes as follows: