Weary of Community Plugins – Help?

I am new to Obsidian and I think I am already obsessed with it! In the interest of keeping my Vault (and Zettelkasten) as future-proof, fool-proof (me, I am the fool!), fast, etc. as possible I am trying to avoid unnecessary plugins, code, etc. in my notes and templates.

So, long story short, I am weary about community plugins. I am certain that some of them would be immensely valuable to my use case (in particular, the “Citations” plugin – I am PhD student in the Humanities and my Vault is for my research)… but it does seem to add a possible weakness or vulnerability to my system – at the very least, something new that can also break! The simplicity of the .md files on my computer is very attractive – am I missing out on essential features by being so concerned about community plugins?

1 Like

I can’t speak to this in general, but a lot of plugins (including the Citations one) is just to make your life easier now.
E.g., if the Citations plugin breaks or whatever happens with it, you’ll still have your md files and will be able to read them. It just makes it easier to insert a citation into it right now. So I don’t really see the danger with respect to future-proofing in that.
Others, like dataview, may be different; they add something to your notes that you won’t be able to read without them (or w/o something similar).
So, I think you can look into the plugins on a case-by-case basis and see which category they fall into.

3 Likes

This is helpful, thank you. I guess my worry is inconsistent since Obsidian itself might break …

With Citations, in particular, I am currently planning on just manually inserting some identifying information on the notes I am taking. I don’t think that is a total substitute for a proper plugin, and it’s time consuming, but I guess it promotes one less worry?