Weak links

Many times I would find useful to have weak links that link the word to a certain note without the need to create the complex relationship of maps/backlinks etc. (the only feature would be that clicking on the linked word brings you to the target).

Example: I have a note called Carbon (the element). Naturally if I am studying organic chemistry (but not only) all notes would be linked to it creating a mess in the map. I would like a way to click on carbon on many different notes to access the carbon page but without creating a ā€œstrongā€ link. This, in my opinion, could be useful for ā€œdefinitionā€ notes.

19 Likes

Interesting!

Personally, I actually like having words/concepts with different meanings/applications. As the graph develops you naturally start to see the various meanings bundle and group together (because the related branches also connect to each other) and you end up with an hourglass type shape with the main word being the center, but youā€™re right that it may not be worth much value for things like carbon, which is very specific.

Have you thought about keeping your definition style notes in a separate folder, so that you can hide them in the graph view with a query? Perhaps it adds a bit of complexity to your vault but might be something to consider

1 Like

ā€¦ so thatā€™s a little like a ā€œreverseā€ unlinked mention? ā€¦but only leads to one place? Clearly Obsidian does this very well the other way round already.

I like the idea and have wanted something similar, but Iā€™m not sure how it would work as a feature? Just throwing an idea inā€¦ something like a context menu to show if there is a file named the same as currently selected text?

I also agree with you to a degreeā€¦ tagging a file with #definition or similar would also do nicely there. But it still doesnā€™t work quickly in reverse without typing in a search term specially.

2 Likes