Using multiple tags on a single note with Dataview

Hello All,

Obsidian noob here. I have a journal where I have one note per year, so each note contains several entries (several per week.)

I’d like to use Dataview to query my entries, but I don’t think I can do that with standard tags since I have several per page. Plus, tags become unwieldy after a point.

Is there an alternative to using tags? I would like to add metadata to each entry if possible.

Thanks!

What I’m trying to do

Well, I don’t see any argument against using tags. If you format your entries as lists:

• Today I did a thing. Then this happened. …

you can do a section search with dataview.

Try something like:

TABLE link(L.section,"jump to paragraph") AS Link
FROM #watching 
FLATTEN file.lists AS L

The resulting link should take you directly to “2-5-23”.

After some more searching, I believe what I should use is inline metadata.

What I want to do

Use Dataview to query a single note with 100+ tags in it, but have it delineate between entries.

Using my screenshot as an example, if I query #watching (or :: watching) I want the query to return only my entry for 2-5-23.

Also, if I should use inline metadata, where should I place the :: watching tag?

Thanks

First of all, tags are connected to a scope. The two basic scopes are the page and lists. You’re first example is using the page scope, so even though your tag is located near the “2-5-23” heading, it’s still within the scope of the page, so it’s just as close to the “2-6-23” heading.

Second, I’m all in favour of using inline fields (or metadata), but they have the same scoping issue that they’re either connected to the page or to lists (and with list tasks are included by the way). In addition an inline field can’t contain another inline field, so it might be hard to collate all the information you want into one section.

So how would I adress this, I would use lists to utilise the other scope available: