Updating older notes

Things I have tried

cmd+shift+I to open up the console
(it looks scary and I don’t want to mess anything up)

What I’m trying to do

i am trying to write a script or (something, sorry coding newbie) that will update notes in a specific folder where date <= this.file.day to a specific template when run.

For instance, with Daily Notes, I modify the template frequently as I modify my routine. Every time I update the template, I’d have to manually go through each note and insert “new section or feature”.

I am unsure what or where I should look into for creating/testing it. I am new to coding and have a general idea of the script logic but writing it in the correct syntax is difficult. Any suggestions?

I’ve seen some requests on this topic lately, and in general I think one needs to rethink the use case. I think one needs to allow the daily template to evolve without going back in time and retro fit the template to old notes.

Imagine yourself a few years in the future after diligently writing your daily notes, were you suddenly decides to split a section into two. Is it then feasible to change all previous notes to have that split?

I believe it’s better to leave the older notes as is, in most cases, and rather think carefully when and how to change the template if it impacts other parts of your vault.

In general, it usually means you need to look at weekly and monthly templates, so the change should occur in the start of a new month or a new week. Possibly some care should be taken if it affects a yearly note, but that could often be handled manually.

Back to your original question, coding does require some practice, and changing multiple notes is not for the faint of heart. I’m a programmer by profession, and I’m reluctantly wanting to do any changes to multiple notes if I can avoid it, due to the many possibilities for it to go wrong somehow.