Update currently active note property using MetaEdit api

This is an extension of my other post. The following code exactly as intended except for the Update new file properties part.

I have a button in the master journal log file that creates a new journal entry. The master journal also keeps track of the current most latest (old) journal entry in YAML.
After creating a new entry, that entry’s ‘Previous Entry’ property (written as Previous Entry:: ) should be updated with a link to the old latest entry… But that doesn’t happen, despite the opposite (the last line of the code) working fine.

I don’t get any console errors either. Where am I mistaken?

<%*
// Initiate APIs
const meta = this.app.plugins.plugins["metaedit"].api;
const dv = app.plugins.plugins.dataview.api;

// Get path of master journal
let masterJPath = await dv.page("Journal Log").file.path;

// Get old file info
let oldFileName = await meta.getPropertyValue("latestEntryFileName", masterJPath);
let oldFileIndex = await meta.getPropertyValue("latestEntry", masterJPath);
let oldFilePath = await dv.page(`${oldFileName}`).file.path;

// Get time
let now = await tp.date.now('YYYY-MM-DD HH-mm-ss');

// Generate new entry info
let newFileName = await `J ${oldFileIndex+1} ${now}`;
let newFilePath = tp.file.path(true);

// Rename new entry
await tp.file.rename(newFileName);

// Update new file properties
await meta.update("Previous Entry", `[[${oldFileName}]]`, newFilePath);

// Update master journal properties
await meta.update("latestEntry", `${oldFileIndex+1}`, masterJPath);
await meta.update("latestEntryFileName", `${newFileName}`, masterJPath);

// Update old file properties
await meta.update("Next Entry", `[[${newFileName}]]`, oldFilePath);
-%>
1 Like

A quick guess: If you print newFilePath out to the console, is it correctly the path to your newly-renamed note? The path of the note changes when you rename it.