Until a better timeline shows up

In a thread discussing ideas for a future graphical timeline plugin, I was asked if I could share the event-based timeline setup I use for historic research and writing. The following is obviously a work in progress and I add stuff whenever it is needed, but so far it has proved to be very useful. It lacks graphical spans or period lines, but it does what I need it to do. It has the advantage of using only the Dataview plugin which, imho, could be the basis for any future timeline plugin since it would dispense users from learning yet another markup syntax.

Please note that I am not a professional developer and that a lot of this stuff could probably be done better, refined and developed further still.

Events

All events are just files inside a folder called events. I have a template which adds the following to each new event created:

---
tags: event
date: 
---

I use the event tag as well so that I can easily make other notes into events later on, without moving them from where they are. I then enter the date in the appropriate field.

Having each event as an individual note allows mixing events which are just dates with nothing but a note title with full-blown documents which include text, links or any other content.

Date format

In the Dataview preferences I use yyyy-MM-dd. This has the benefit of allowing me to use year-only and month-only dates (e.g. 2023 or 2023-05) when I need them.

However, they have to be entered in a special format because Dataview will not detect strings formatted as yyyy-MM as a valid date, or will do some implicit conversions which I don’t need (such as converting 2023-05 to 2023-05-01). So a year is entered as 2023 -- -- and a month as 2023-05 --. This also stands out nicely in the final output and suits me fine. In an earlier project, before using Obsidian, I was used to entering 2023-05-00 when the day was not important but Dataview doesn’t enjoy that and adapting isn’t a big deal.