Unknown location of vault and files (but Obsidian finds them)

Things I have tried

Hi I just started using Obsidian a few days ago - it’s great, but…

I cannot find where the vault and the markdown files are located. I am using a Mac. I found the Obsidian file, the help files but can’t find my own files.

Obsidian opens my vault but I don’t know where my vault is! I tried “Show in system explorer” but that doesn’t work. I tried using finder to find markdown files, that doesn’t work. This is driving me nuts - the vault kind of tells me where to look but when I look there my personal vault is nowhere to be seen.

I have a feeling it’s in iCloud but doesn’t show anywhere, is it possible they’re hidden files?

sorry I am new to this but have spent a couple of hours trying to sort this out to no avail. Any help appreciated.

further to this - I checked my iCloud and obsidian is using 32 MB of storage, but I can’t see any of the folders or files. Any ideas? seems like they’re in that location which is something…just invisible.

On the left-hand edge of the vault, there is an icon towards the bottom of the window that looks like a safe. Click on that, and it will open a window that lets you choose to open or create another vault. On the left side of that window, you will see a list of the current vaults. One will be the Obsidian Help vault. The other (or others) will be any vault you have created. You will see the full path of every vault.

If you only see the Obsidian Help vault, you have probably been saving your files inside that.

Angel

2 Likes

Thank you but I saw that path but when I followed it nothing was there. Seems like it’s hidden in iCloud but I can’t work out how to make it visible.

Ahhh, I see what you mean. When you have Finder open, do the shortcut of Cmd+Shift+Period. It’ll begin to show the “Hidden” files and folders like so:

From the  sign → System Preferences → Apple ID → iCloud Drive → Options …