Unique values for key in dataviewjs

I am new to to javascript and trying to get a list of unique/distinct values for a specified key/property in dataviewjs. I am trying to use “a javascript function returning an array of string” for a query to create a field in MetaData Menu.

I have this working in DQL but can’t manage to get it translated to dataviewjs…

For this example, I would like all of the unique genres of books; both genre and class are specified by a “class” key/property. Let’s say I have 3 books: 2 comedy and 1 horror. So my resulting list should be length 2 with comedy and horror.

Here is the YAML from a sample note:

---
class: book
genre: comedy
---

In DQL, this works:

LIST
WHERE class = "book"
FLATTEN genre
GROUP BY genre

In dataviewjs, it does not work and I get each appearance of each genre, i.e., comedy, comedy, horror.

dv.pages().where(p => p.class == "book").map(p => p.genre)

Many thanks for your help!

Does this work for you?

~~~dataviewjs
let propertyName = "your property name here" 

let uniqueProperties = [];

Object.values(app.metadataCache.getAllPropertyInfos()).filter((prop) => {return prop.name === propertyName}).forEach(async (prop) => {
    const propAndValues = prop;
    propAndValues.values = DataviewAPI.func.unique(
        DataviewAPI.pages("")
            .filter((page) => page.file?.frontmatter?.[propAndValues.name])
            ?.[propAndValues.name]?.array?.(),
    );
    uniqueProperties.push(propAndValues);
});

uniqueProperties = DataviewAPI.func.unique(uniqueProperties);

dv.table(
    ["Property name", "Type", "Unique values"],
    uniqueProperties
        .sort((a, b) =>
            a.name.localeCompare(b.name, "en", { sensitivity: "base" }),
        )
        .map((prop) => [prop.name, prop.type, prop.values.sort()]),
);
~~~

I use this to get a list of distinct value of a list type, here for the tags but it work for any other list field:

dv.pages().groupBy(p => p.tags).key.distinct()

So you can use :