Tool for mobile on the go highlighting and note taking

Hello all,
I’m kinda new in all this PKM / zettelkasten / 2nd brain stuff and I’m just building my workflows of getting the ideas in Obsidian. I’m hoping to get a bit of advice from more experienced users because I was searching around and could not find an answer.

I just stumbled upon one problem. I often use public transport to get around the city and killing time with reading. From time to time I find an interesting idea I want to keep and preferably take a small note in my own words.

For a simple ‘read later and on the go’ I’m using Pocket on my Android phone. Which can do a highlight, but without a note to the highlight.

Do you have a tip for an app, or workflow you are using that can do:

• read later library with the browser extension to saving the articles
  • synchronization to a mobile (android) app
  • highlighting and note-taking
  • export to Obsidian
  • preferably free of charge

Thank you all in advance!

I’m still using Dynalist as an inbox for mobile. I then copy it over once a day. Dynalist have wonderful mobile apps that are more developed than Obsidian’s.

3 Likes

Check out Readwise. It takes your highlights from wherever and will put them right into Obsidian.

I used Instapaper and each article has an option to export highlights and notes as markdown that I would paste into Obsidian. Manual but not too onerous.

1 Like

This sounds like Readwise’s Reader app when it’s released.

Readwise Reader | The first read-it-later app built for power readers.

1 Like

I use Google Keep. I have a label on Keep for things I want to read, another for notes I want to eventually export to Obsidian, and another for note I need to put in my vault ASAP. I love the Obsidian mobile app but I don’t have time on the go to open my entire vault just to take a quick note.

Thank you guys for the sugestions!