Thought process on publishing your "personal" knowledge management

Hi guys,

I’m new to PKM domain, especially the when and the what to share online, would love to hear your thought on following questions:

• For me, “personal” mean I should be comfortable to write whatever I want on my Obsidian Vault, which mean it’s might not be suitable and preferable to share my vault online. Hence, the question → What your thought process on which to share which not?
  • When share your thought or your idea online, which form you prefer: Traditional blog post or obsidian/wiki style approach?

Thanks!

1 Like

Interested to follow this thread, thanks for posting. I’m curious how people are using the publishing feature (paid) of Obsidian, it’s an interesting concept.

You may know this, but in case not: Andy Matuschak (former research head at Khan Academy) publishes his ‘notes’ using Obsidian… as a sort of work in progress/best thinking (so far) on topics he’s researching and thinking about. It’s a useful reference point that may help you.

My own thoughts so far:

• I’m considering this question too, and will at some point probably create a public set of published notes using the Obsidian paid service
  • In Malcolm Gladwell’s “Masterclass” on writing, he makes a helpful distinction in his writing workflow between “thinking” and “talking” that might provide a useful way to think about what is ‘ready’ for public consumption versus what you might want to keep private.

Gladwell’s Thinking and Talking Distinction

A quick summary, with a caveat: Gladwell is a journalist and best-selling non-fiction author, so his standard of what constitutes a “shareable” piece of writing is very high!