Templater: issues with formatting metadata

I wanted to create a templater template, that would update a timestamp in my metadata not automatically, but if I manually ask (with hotkey binding). While I have several useful simple templates with templater, I’m very new to scripting…

I found this thread: Templater - How to add information to YAML frontmatter

And basically tried imitating it. I copied the mutate_frontmatter.js to my templater scripts folder and I made a template in my templates folder that has:

<% tp.user.mutate_frontmatter(tp, {updated: tp.date.now("YYYY-MM-DD HH:mm:ssZ")}) %>

I was expecting that if I trigger this template with the hotkey binding, it would update the frontmatter “updated” value with the current timestamp.

Instead I run into an error, that prints in the console:

plugin:templater-obsidian:61 Templater Error: Template parsing error, aborting. 
tp.user.formatted_frontmatter is not a function
log_error                       @plugin:templater-obsidian:61
errorWrapper                    @plugin:templater-obsidian:81
await in errorWrapper (async)		
append_template_to_active_file	@plugin:templater-obsidian:3700
callback	                    @plugin:templater-obsidian:3978
tj	                            @app.js:1
e.executeCommand	            @app.js:1
e.onTrigger	                    @app.js:1
e.handleKey	                    @app.js:1
e.handleKey	                    @app.js:1
t.handleKey	                    @app.js:1
e.onKeyEvent	                @app.js:1

So, if I understand correctly, it doesn’t recognize the function (although in my templater settings it shows as found and I have enabled user functions).

Any ideas what I’m doing wrong?

It could be helpful to see the actual javascript file defining your function.

Ok, I guess posting here just makes me realize things: it was using a different function as well. Copied that and now there is no error, but it doesn’t update the metadata, but creates a new one where my cursor happens to be…