Tags, keys, or both to organize notes?

What I’m trying to do

I’m a self-published writer. I’ve written a series of fantasy/historical novels series with over 400 characters. Besides that there are locations, like cities, rivers, main roads and so on. I also need to keep track of historical (in world) events. Every scene is dated exactly within this world.

A lot to keep track of. Moreover, I need to be able to group characters, and a single character can belong to more than one group.

Question

Obsidian uses tags to organize information. The Dataview plugin uses metadata. As a complete newbie tags and metadata keys seem to have more or less the same function. I understand that both can be used in the Yaml or the body of the note.

I’m now wondering should I use

1. tags?
  2. metadata keys?
  3. both?

I’d like to have some input from more experienced users what the pros and cons are, and how they use tags/keys in their own systems.

I’d start with tags.

• They’re simpler.
  • They’re easier to search outside of Obsidian.
  • They don’t require a plugin.
  • DataView can use them, so you can expand to DataView if needed.

On the other, you can get fancier and more specific with YAML metadata; @pdworkman, who unlike me has published many novels, uses it:

My current fiction project is a collection of short stories, so it doesn’t require the kind of tracking that a novel would. But my vault contains >6,000 notes of various kinds and, as neat and potentially useful as DataView is, I haven’t yet felt the need for it. For me, embedded searches work well enough.

1 Like

Thanks for your input.

Before I used TiddlyWiki (classic) as my main note taking system. TW is usually described as a non-linear personal notebook used as a single HTML file in the browser. The notes are not stored in folders and can only be retrieved in a meaningful manner by using tags and a few macros.