Tags in notes are not listed in tags window

Things I have tried

I searched for this in the help docs, but I couldn’t find anything related to this error.

I’ve tried logging in and out of sync, as well as restarting the program.

What I’m trying to do

I have more than 3,000 notes tagged as “#video”, but almost none of them are showing up in the right-hand panel. I’m still relatively new to Obsidian, so tags are a bit confusing to me. Here’s an example of a note I tagged as #recipe, but it doesn’t show up in the “tag:#recipe” search. On top of that, I have a lot more tags on those notes, but they’re not showing up on the tag pane on the right. It does, however, show up in the plain “#recipe” search query. I want it to be counted in the tag pane, though.

I’m not sure what I’m doing wrong here, and I feel like it’s a rookie mistake. Can someone please explain to me what I can do to fix this?

Are some paths / folders excluded in this setting:

Obsidian > Settings > Files & Links > Excluded Files

1 Like

It appears that none of the files are excluded.

1 Like

This seems strange, but you do not give us enough information to try to reproduce the potential error. So could you provide snippets, and that is the source code k not images), from multiple files which are not shown in your searches or in the tag window?

And could you also provide information on which version of Obsidian you’re using? And possibly the show debug info?

Right tag panel looks wrong; it should have numbers (indicating number of tags with that name) to the right.

Does the tag panel show numbers in the sandbox vault?

I’m sorry, but I’m not a programmer and I don’t quite understand how to do what you just asked for.

Edit: I can at least say it’s version 1.0.3

The numbers are there, they were just cut off in the screenshot.

Got it.

I think holroy was asking for your debug info. Open the command pallet (cmd/ctrl+P) and type: “show debug info” and paste it here.