Sorting pages chronologically in dataview with different kinds of time-sensitive data

What I’m trying to do

I have an apple collection and want to sort varieties in dataview from early to mid to late ripening varieties. Ripening is a chronological property so it should be possible to sort it in that way. The data I have on them are varied:

• Some varieties I only know broadly if they are early, mid or late.
  • Some varieties I know roughly which month they ripen.
  • Some varieties I know whether they ripen at the beginning, middle or end of a particular month.

Ideally, I would like to be able to use the data I have in a way that dataview can still understand in a chronological way.

My priority with dataview queries and properties is to use as simple code as possible for two reasons: I’m not a programmer and I want my notes to stay as close as possible to being legible by humans.

Things I have tried

I searched the forum for keywords like ‘dataview months sorting’. I’ve considered to use a number format (1-12) to indicate months, but that then excludes the possibility of using more rough data like ‘early ripening’ (which can mean any variety that ripens in july or august) and also excludes the possibility of using more fine-grained data like ‘beginning of October’.

I’ve used text data before, but dataview doesn’t understand that chronologically. It doesn’t know that ‘early’ comes before ‘late’.

I’ve tried looked at the field type date, but don’t understand how I could use this. Maybe someone is more creative or clever than me.

1 Like

I think you might need/want to use date ranges to indicate when it’s ripe.

Ideally you’d also want something like a natural languages plugin which could return those date ranges, so that you could get it to respond to phrases like early august, mid december… There is such a plugin for singular dates, but I don’t think it can return date ranges.

You could possibly make your own function where

• month and: