Smart tags: Key-Value pairs using new nested tags feature

I hope this is a good place to post this idea and would love community feedback on it. I am a researcher in engineering and am often faced with needing to perform literature reviews comparing different solutions to a similar problem. For this description, let’s say I am comparing different devices each with a different size and I want to ask the question “which of the devices I’ve researched would fit into this design?”. I would love the ability to query across all of my notes for the size of all devices and display them in one place along with other related attributes. I use the word “attributes” specifically, because this is the term Roam gives to their key-value pair system that allows you to build a table of all the times that attribute was mentioned.

However, this is not intended as a post asking for Obsidian to mirror Roam’s features. In contrast, I think Obsidian’s new nested tag feature has the opportunity to provide a significantly more elegant solution to this problem.

When I am performing the query on key-value pairs, I don’t want to find all the times “size” was assigned a value. Instead, I want to find all the times “devices/size” was assigned a value. In other words the generic tag “size” gets a qualifier from its parent tag “devices”. This way I can use the tag “size” in several contexts and each has a unique meaning. I could query for “devices/size” or “houses/size” and they would not conflict. In Roam, to do the same thing, I would need to do something like this “[[[[devices]], [[size]]]]:: size of device” which is cumbersome.