Should I use tags? I'm looking for a custom queryable structure?

First, search the help docs and this forum. Maybe your question has been answered! The debugging steps can help, too. Still stuck? Delete this line and proceed.

What I’m trying to do

I’m still learning how to use Obsidian for my personal knowledge management at work. I’m a few months into it.

I’m using the Daily note to record general notes from the day, but information tends to die in these files. Sometimes I make a new file for more meaningful meetings or topics.

In notes of any sort, I get information related to projects and employees. I’d like to be able to have a structure that is somewhat like tasks so that I can query for details related to an employee or a project. So I could have a file for Project A and query for records related to A. Or a file for Elmer Fudd, my employee, would have a query for records with feedback regarding Elmer.

So, something that works like tasks, but is not a thing that needs to be done. Is there a solution for this?

Things I have tried

I searched for articles related to Task, Query, and Tags.

Is your question:

How can I organize my notes in Obsidian to easily retrieve information about specific projects or employees, using a system that allows for querying details like tasks, but for informational purposes instead of actionable tasks?

If yes, then:

To organize and retrieve information about specific projects or employees, the most simple and flexible option is to combine tags, links, and the Dataview plugin.

1. Use Tags for Categorization: Assign tags to your notes to categorize them by project or employee. For example, use #ProjectA for all notes related to Project A and #ElmerFudd for notes about Elmer Fudd. Tags may be easy to recall and search for.