School dilemma on topics that appear multiple times

Hello! I am a new Obsidian user, mainly filling it with school material. It truly helps my studying workflow.

I have however found a couple of “methodological” issues in my path:

• Let’s say that the topic “Medieval Ages” is studied once in highschool, and I take notes inside of Obsidian.
  • later on in life I need to study it again - say, in university. Obviously this kind of studying is probably going to be different: it might be more in-depth, it might have slightly different views on events depending on the teacher.
  • I at this point would hit a wall: should I make a new “Medieval Ages” page? Or would you continuously update your existing page?

I guess this sort of doubt could come up in similar ways even in the same schoolyear: what if I am studying a certain topic which comes up in two different classes?

One solution I can imagine is structuring content through .md filenames. So for example * Medieval Ages of highschool in year five, studied in history class, could become HS5 HIS - Medieval Ages.
One could then do the same for university, something along the lines of UN2 HIS - Medieval Ages.

The doubt persists - would you do it this way? If not, why?

I am much open to any kind of input. Thank you in advance!

1 Like

I think the backlink feature of Obsidian (other software have backlinks too) could help you a lot with this.
I would suggest the following:

• Write down your down your notes in a file related to where you collected it. I would probably have one note per session, and then maybe a folder or a tag for each class.