Roam-ish Zettelkasten

Hey team, this is my first post here after lurking and learning a little bit. I’m a university student studying psychology, but I’ve got a bunch of other interests and I love the idea of melting them all together in a Zettelkasten in Obsidian. I’m still a little out of my depth, but I’ve sort of cobbled together a system I’d love a second opinion on.

I want to start by saying I don’t want to copy Roam and that I prefer Obsidian, there’s just a couple of neat things Roam does that if I can roughly emulate then I’m happy with and some of these steps are based on ideas from that programme.

So my system at the minute is based on a mixture of stuff I’ve seen on YouTube from Curtis Mchale, Shu Omi, and from How to Take Smart Notes. The logic I’m playing around with is the difference between Roam’s atomic bullet and Obsidian’s atomic file.

1. Read book, highlight passages. I’m using Zotero and Zotfile so I can do this on my iPad and then export/import them.

2. Extract highlights into Zotero. Copy the source code of that to preserve links to pages within the PDF. This is in HTML which is less readable than markdown but it’s convenient enough that I’m willing to take the hit.

3. Create a note in Obsidian called yyyyMMddHHmm Book Title. YAML block at the top with an APA style reference (just my preference, no function), the [[author]] and some #keywords. Big heading with the title of the book, then there are two main H3 headings in the file: literary notes, and highlights. These might be divided by H2 chapter titles if that structure is useful.

4. Paste the exported highlights from Zotero and split the pane. Preview mode on the left, editor on the right.

5. Cluster/Rewrite the highlights in my own words, checking understanding as I go. Here’s the roam copycat: each of these notes is written in H6. This looks nicer in some themes than others. This allows each note to be searchable and linkable, like a block reference.